SOG Seal Pup Elite Survival Knife

The SOG Seal Pup Elite 

A Knife for the Rest of Your Life!

Before a recent trip into the everglades I decided I am going to get some new lightweight gear. So I turned to Amazon and picked up a lightweight sleeping bag to keep bug off at night, and a sleeping pad which I have never had. The review is to come on these items, but during my searches I started to get interested in getting an all purpose knife. It became a 2 day obsession to find a knife to fit my needs and I have never spent more than $15 on a knife previously.

My needs in a survival knife, corrosion resistant (not corrosion proof!) for free diving and saltwater adventuring, medium length blade, and maintenance free construction. I didn’t want a handle that was going to need to be tightened once a month. I also wanted a hard sheath and a line cutter for diving and easy cordage cutting at camp. After searching and reading review the knife I decided to jump on……. (drum roll)

The SOG E37T-K Seal Pup Elite Knife with Kydex Sheath, Black TiNi

The knife at $68 (MSRP $130) is the most expensive knife I have ever purchased but it is also the BEST knife I have ever owned. It met all the specs I wanted in a knife and has received rave reviews on YouTube and Amazon. I used it to split wood with no problems, the serrated portion of the blade makes sawing through small green wood and plastic a breeze. The line cutter works and hopefully works well if I ever need it to in the clutch (if ever tangled in anything while diving). The handle is solid with no screws or connections to come loose. The case is nice and what I expected. Overall I am very please with this MilSpec (NAVY) knife.

Cons: The Titanium Nickel finish although looked nice new is wearing through with minimal use, and the blade has developed a few tiny rust spots after 4 days in and out of salt water. Salt Water and metal with any carbon in it equals minor rust spot, but these do not affect the performance in the least. The case rivets are corroding a little and I will replace these with marine grade rivets as soon as they loosen even a small amount.

Recommendation: If it’s your style, all black, tatical and milspec   BUY!!!   if you can afford it. The one thing that will double your survival chance if ever faced with a true survival situation is a knife and something every person should have (The only blade I would take over this… my $20 machete!) and know how to use.

The SOG Seal Pup Elite has held an edge for 4 days of use and exposure in and out of salt water without rinsing, it is super sharp and lets be honest, it looks bad ass.

Specifications:

Knife Type: Fixed Blade
Application: Tactical, General
Blade Length: 4.86″
Blade Thickness: 0.185″
Length: 9.5″
Weight: 5.4 oz
Edge: Partially Serrated
Blade Material: AUS 8 stainless steel
Handle Material: Glass-reinforced polymer

Sheath:                     Kydex with nylon strap and line cutter opening

Long Term Review to come in the future after continued use! Thanks for visiting, if you have any comments please leave them. We want to hear from you on your favorite gear as well. We can learn as much from you as you can from us!

Leave us a Comment or Suggestion! We appreciate all feedback

