The Kelty Salida 2 Lightweight Tent – Better Than Rent

The Kelty Salida 2 Lightweight Tent
I really feel this Tent is better than Rent!!!
After a 15 mile two day trip with an 9 lb Coleman tent for 3 people in my pack because it was the only “Small” tent we had, I came to a realization… BUY A NEW TENT. I am not about to spend $350 on any piece of my gear, maybe I will on a good GPS if I ever get one (I can read a map, use a compass and navigate) so after much searching and debating this was the tent I wanted. A few days after I decided this is what I was going to get Altrec.com, my go to site, had this tent on clearance for $126 (List Price $159.95). I jumped on it that day even sprung for $5 express shipping. I have only used it a few times but I LOVE THIS TENT. The super light aluminum poles are awesome and the tent sets up in a matter of 3 or 4 minutes. The stakes are adequate but I do wish they were a little longer. Much of the hiking and camping we do is ocean side, and the wind can be a hassle if there is no weight in it and the rainfly is on. The rainfly is also very nice and lightweight with a vestibule to keep the packs out of the tent and the elements. If you need a lightweight 2 person tent and can afford this one at full retail, I think its worth it, if you find it onsale like I did it is definitely a good buy. It weighs in at 4 lbs 8 oz with the rainfly and 3 lbs 12 oz without. If your not experiencing much wind you could cut on the stakes 6 would be enough or you could get creative and take none and use the tools around you to make it work at camp. There isn’t much on the market this light near this price point and you may be able to get it even cheaper than I did on eBay. I have had a few tents in my lifetime and have a similar designed 6 person tent for comfort camping with the girls but this tent takes the cake and I could not be any more happy.
Specs:
  • Capacity: 2
  • # of doors: 1
  • Floor + vestibule area: 30.5 + 10 sq ft, 2.83 + 0.93 sq m
  • Interior peak height: 43 in 109.22 cm
  • Floor material: 68D nylon, 1800 mm
  • Body material: 68D polyester
  • Fly material: 75D polyester, 1800 mm
  • # of poles: 2
  • Pole material: DAC pressfit
  • Seasons: 3
  • Freestanding design
  • Color-coded clip construction
  • Taped floor seams
  • Gear-loft loops
  • ArcEdge floor
  • No-See-Um mesh wall panels
  • Internal storage pockets
  • Noiseless zipper pulls
  • Taped seams
  • Side-release tent/fly connection
  • Noiseless zipper pulls
  • Guyout points
  • Winner of 2011 Backpacker Editor’s Choice Award
  • Packed diameter: 7 in, 17.78 cm
  • Packed Length: 22 in, 55.88 cm
  • Minimum weight: 3 lb 12 oz, 1.70 kg
  • Packaged weight: 4 lb 8 oz, 2.04 kg
Recommendation: A tarp and a trekking pole may be lighter but price out a trekking pole, tarp or bivy and then think about what one storm would be like in those and you will come to the same conclusion I have… BUY BUY BUY
I have actually compressed this much smaller than the dimensions shown in the specifications. The tent, fly and DIY Poly footprint fit in the sleeping bag pouch along with my lightweight fleece sleep sheet leaving only the poles and stakes in my main pack. It may be time to move to a much smaller pack 😀
I still would love to go out and build my own shelter but for a one or two night stay this is the shelter for me plus room for one more or all my gear inside!
Leave us a Comment or Suggestion! We appreciate all feedback

